Blues Music Awards

The Blues Music Awards are awards presented by the Blues Foundation, a non-profit organization set up to foster blues heritage. The awards, started in 1980, are according to Offbeat music magazine "universally recognized as the highest accolade afforded musicians and songwriters in blues music."

The awards were formerly known as the W. C. Handy Awards (or "The Handys") but were renamed in 2006 in an effort to increase public appreciation of the significance of the awards.

This information came from the great sites below

wiki blues music awards (BMA's)
2017 blues music awards (BMA's) May 11th 2017
2017 bma categories and definitions
2017 bma nominees